TEN YEARS… part 1

Today begins my 10-year celebration of being a prostate cancer survivor! (Wow! I can’t believe it.) It would be 10 years ago today on a Saturday morning when I would be encouraged by my sweet wife to attend a special monthly men’s fellowship at my church. Each year in the month of October there was a scheduled prostate cancer screening that would follow a men’s breakfast and Bible teaching led by our pastor. Nurses were stationed at various tables in a large meeting/classroom to take blood pressure and blood samples for PSA. Smaller classrooms were each occupied by a doctor to administer the “dreaded” digital rectal exam. Other than the weird sensation of the DRE (ugh!) I had no symptoms nor serious concerns about my health. The rest of the day was spent worry-free with my family doing the typical weekend activities at home. It seemed that all was well with my life — until the following week… (to be continued)

Leave a Reply

